Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Premiums

Default Premiums

I've noticed that silver premiums are a lot higher of late to go along with an ever dwindling inventory. Has anyone else noticed that? How reasonable would it be to expect the premiums to go back down when things get back to (or closer to) an even keel?

Silver premiums have always been horse $#!t. I've been buying silver for about 15 years and the premium has always been at least a couple few bucks which at the spot price of silver has always been about at least 10%+. It's stupid. As far as physical metals go gold is in my opinion a much better buy. I honestly just think there's so many silver buyers because the price is still cheap and we all love stacking big piles of metal. For most of us, silver is the only thing we can stack considerable quantities of.

Full disclosure, I own way more ounces of silver than gold but dollar wise I'm about 2:1 gold:silver

I've seen a lot of "eyebrow raising" premiums over the years but lately it seems to be even more outrageous. You have a point about gold; I'll probably look at it a lot closer going forward.

Quote Originally Posted by LuckyAllMyLife View Post
    Silver premiums have always been horse $#!t. I've been buying silver for about 15 years and the premium has always been at least a couple few bucks which at the spot price of silver has always been about at least 10%+. It's stupid.
    That is so funny, you silly folks!

Many times in past 15 years you could get silver for just $.30 over spot. Very often with 100 ounces bars. But within just past 3 years I bought 1oz Australia Kangaroos (government silver!!!) for less than $1 over spot, and generic rounds for $.25/ea over spot (actually $.08 BELOW spot after ebay bucks and credit card rewards, thank you Mr. Ebay).