Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Where do you guys buy Platinum coins?

Default Where do you guys buy Platinum coins?

I am so tired of paying for almost $100 over spot.
    Sam's Club, Life member

The last time I bought a Platinum Eagle it was from Bullion Direct dot com.

Good luck with that. lol
    Disclaimer:Later....

Quote Originally Posted by Stupid View Post
    I am so tired of paying for almost $100 over spot.
    I'm a Plat rookie . ..
    Is $100 over spot . . a lot? What's the norm? What would be a good deal ?

Quote Originally Posted by The Sage View Post
    I'm a Plat rookie . ..
    Is $100 over spot . . a lot? What's the norm? What would be a good deal ?
    I think it is. I've easily been able to find 1 oz bars at about $50 over spot, both online and locally. Plat Eagles are another story as in common bullion form they had mintage stopped for some 7 years -- though at one time was able to trade Kitco pool account plat for plat eagles at very reasonable premiums (that's one of the best thing with pool accounts -- you can trade to physical when premiums are at more reasonable premiums, which for silver, means when per ounce cost is higher as premiums that remain the same, become a smaller percentage of the total as price goes up).
    Last edited by motocat; 08-17-2015 at 04:39 AM.
    “Of all the contrivances for cheating the laboring class of mankind, none has been more effective than that which deludes them with paper money.”Daniel Webster (1782-1852)

Quote Originally Posted by Count Stacula View Post
    The last time I bought a Platinum Eagle it was from Bullion Direct dot com.

Good luck with that. lol
    Very funny!
    Sam's Club, Life member

The spread on Platinum is insane. For example, for the Platinum maple at Kitco, buy price is $1112 and sell price is $1027 having a spread of $85!!!

I'd have to wait for Platinum to appreciate $85 just to break even.
    Sam's Club, Life member