Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Fed Funding Virtually the Entire Deficit: Lindsey

Default Fed Funding Virtually the Entire Deficit: Lindsey

Fed Funding Virtually the Entire Deficit: Lindsey

Lindsey said that with the Fed purchasing at least $40 billion a month in mortgage debt through QE3, "they are buying the entire deficit."
    Although this article does not state this, it appears that the money used to purchase Mortgaged Backed Securities from the banks is being used by the banks to purchase U.S. Treasures.

This, coupled with the purchases of 61% to 75% of U.S. Treasuries by the Federal Reserve, suggests that directly, or indirectly, the Federal Reserve is purchasing all of the debt to fund the United States deficit.
    Legal Disclaimer: I am not a doctor, nor do I play one on TV.

"It's tough to make predictions, especially about the future." -- Yogi Berra
    A variant of this has also been attributed to physicist Niels Bohr, and others.

"Tis against some menís principle to pay interest, and seems against othersí interest to pay the principal." -- Benjamin Franklin

The School of Hard Knocks is where you get the lesson after you fail the test.

Book title: "The Best Way to Rob a Bank Is to Own One"

Quote Originally Posted by WhatsUpDoc1958 View Post
    Fed Funding Virtually the Entire Deficit: Lindsey

Although this article does not state this, it appears that the money used to purchase Mortgaged Backed Securities from the banks is being used by the banks to purchase U.S. Treasures.

This, coupled with the purchases of 61% to 75% of U.S. Treasuries by the Federal Reserve, suggests that directly, or indirectly, the Federal Reserve is purchasing all of the debt to fund the United States deficit.
    Well, DUH! QE has never been about "the markets" or "the consumer". It's always been about funding the deficit (and why it was so easy to predict that there would be a QE3 and beyond)

Quote Originally Posted by joeb328 View Post